

LATE DR. T.N. JHA MEMORIAL AND DR. K.P. CHANSORIYA MEDAL AND TRAVELING GRANTS

This 'Medal and Traveling Grants' competition, reserved for anaesthesia postgraduate students was originally floated by family of late Dr. T.N. Jha and his colleagues. Owing to financial paucity to run the programme, a generous contribution was received from Dr. K.P. Chansoriya (Past National President of ISA) and the name is now changed to Late Dr. T.N. Jha Memorial and Dr. K.P. Chansoriya Medal and Traveling grant from 2001 onwards.

Rules & Regulations:

- Only ISA member anaesthesia postgraduate students are permitted to participate.
- 2. Last date of receiving the nomination is 10th November of every year.

Twelve Travel grants, one each to a member of ISA, from twelve states (if more states apply, selection will be done by Scientific Committee / on Rotation); will be given every year to attend the Annual National Conference of ISA. The amount of grant will be Rs. 1,000/- to each participant to meet the travel expenses. (Actual number of grants varies every year)

Selection

The Selection of the participating - candidate will be done by the State chapter based on the guide lines that;

- A. He / She must be a PG student at the time when he / she read the paper in respective State Annual Conference of the year.
- B. His / Her paper will be adjudged as the best from PG s who read the paper in State Annual Conference.
- C. He / She will present the same paper in the Annual National Conference of ISA, immediately following the State Conference.
- D. State units may support the participant financially to attend the national conference.

Submission

He / She should submit a certificate endorsing the above facts, a + b, from Hon. Secretary of ISA of respective state to ISA Secretary at HQ for inclusion of name in the competition, before 10th November of each year. At places, where no state chapters are functioning, the paper with the recommendation from ISA City Branch Secretary will be accepted with the provision that only one paper allowed from a state.

Competition for medal

All such papers accepted for competition, will be read in one session on afternoon of 27th November every year. This is an ISA function. The President ISA will chair the session. The Hon. Secretary ISA will anchor the session. The Vice President, ISA will be the coordinator of the function. The Chairperson will introduce the theme of this award and the donors to the audience. The judging team will consist of (a) Vice President ISA (b) Editor IJA (c) One Past President ISA. Time allotted for presentation will be 7 minutes followed by 2 minutes of interaction. Only judges are allowed to ask questions. After valuation of the paper presented, with the permission of the chair, audience can interact with the presenter, if time available.

Judging of paper will be based on the art of presentation of the paper, methodology of the work presented and the audience control while presenting and answering of the questions.

Result and awards

The President ISA will declare the best paper presented at the end of the session and the winner is entitled for Dr. T.N.Jha Memorial and Dr. K.P.Chansoriya Medal, which will be awarded at AGM / Valedictory functions of ISA. Travel grants and certificates will be distributed from office of Secretary on participation at the competition.

Dr. Naveen Malhotra Honorary Secretary Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists